Fabric Freedom
Crafters Companion Limited
Hunkydory Crafts Ltd

Stationery Awards winners announced

Stationery Awards winners announced: Image 1 The winners of this year's Stationery Awards have been revealed at Stationery Show London. The awards are now in their eighth year, and 2019 saw the introduction of two new categories to recognise designer and retailer contributions. The initiative aims to recognise and benchmark good practice and innovation across the stationery sector.

Several suppliers achieved wins in more than one category, with Quadrille winning for both the Diaries, Organisers and Calendars and Licensed Stationery Categories. ExaClair's new gift wrap range by Clairefontaine also collected two awards, including the Judges' Choice. LaunchPad winner Makers Cabinet also won the Desk Accessories category.

This year's judging panel included Katy Golden, head of gift at the Great British Card Company, Chris Lambert, founder of Scrawlrbox, Sarah Laker, owner of Marple Stationery Supplies, Sidonie Warren, co-founder of Papersmiths, Debbie Wigglesworth of The Paper Collaborative and Abigail Ball, stationery buyer at Fenwick.

The winners are as follows:

Chameleon Art – Arts & Crafts

Makers Cabinet – Desk Accessories

Quadrille Publishing – Diaries, Organisers & Calendars

Studio Pens – Everyday Writing Instruments

JPT Europe Ltd – Filing & Storage

ExaClair Limited – Gift Packaging & Wrap

Quadrille Publishing – Licensed Stationery

Leuchtturm 1917 – Notebooks & Journals

Securit by Vermes BV – Novelty Stationery

Petra Boase Ltd – Social Stationery

Writing Instruments (over £25 RRP) – Lime Stationery & Art

VENT for Change – Good Design

ExaClair Limited – Judges' Choice 2019

The Designer Stationery Award went to Laura Jackson of Laura Jackson Design. Laura trained in jewellery design and silversmithing at the School of Jewellery in Birmingham before beginning a career in luxury fashion. She spent eight years in design and development at high-profile international brands for embarking on an exploration of Asia and the Pacific. She now produces homewares and interior products inspired by her travels.

The awards five new retailer categories also attracted attention, and this year's judges including Kerri Middleton of Busy B, George Wilkinson of Nuco International, Jane Reucroft and Chloe Bayles of A Gift from the Gods, Rebecca Saunders, independent retail and e-commerce consultant, Michael Owen of Lime Stationery & Art and Gemma Bassett, marketing manager at Sinclairs. The winners were:

Scrawlrbox – Best Customer Initiative (instore or online)

Best POS/Merchandised Display of Stationery – Scriptum Ltd

New Store of the Year – Papersmiths Brighton and Papersmiths Chelsea

Best Non-Specialist Stationery Store – Papersmiths

Best Specialist Stationery Store – Cult Pens

For details, go to  www.stationeryshow.co.uk